Local Control

The name of our school district is Midlothian Independent School District. The last three words are often abbreviated as ISD. Although it is the “ISD” in our district’s name that I am blogging about, the emphasis is on Independent.

The Texas Legislature has the power and authority to pass bills. It can pass bills that infringe on the independence of local school districts. However, just because an entity has the power and authority to do something, it does not mean that it should do that something.

I can scream as loud as I want, but should I … if I disrupt my work place environment? No. You get the point.

When thinking about legislation, our lawmakers in Austin should respect the Independence in ISD. Should the Texas Legislature propose and pass legislation that unnecessarily infringes on the independence of ISD’s?

The answer is no.

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment