Student Enrollment at Midlothian High School

This may be a different way to begin a blog on Midlothian High School student enrollment, but it is designed to make a point: MHS student enrollment is increasing.

Let’s imagine that I started a diet last August (2010) and as of April 15 (2011) I report to you that I lost 64 pounds. I am pleased, and you congratulate me on the results.

The next time we meet is August 2011. Upon seeing me, you ask about my diet. This time the news is not as good. I report a gain … a gain of 78 pounds.

Have I lost weight, or have I gained weight?

I guess you could say both. I lost weight from August 201o to April 2011. But I gained weight from April 2011 to August 2011.

Let me ask again. Overall, have I lost weight, or have I gained weight?

Overall I’ve gained weight. From August 2010 to August 2011 I am heavier. I did not lose, I gained.

On the first day of school August 2010, MHS had 2,356 students enrolled. On April 15, 2011, it had 2,292 students: 64 fewer students.

MHS has 541 seniors. Imagine that all 541 seniors graduate. At present, MISD has 619 eighth graders. Let’s say that all of the 8th graders pass and move on to the high school for the 2011-12 school year. That’s a gain of 78 students.

Will MHS have more or less students next school year? The answer is more.

Let’s include juniors in our example. MHS has 503 juniors and MISD has 568 seventh graders. That’s 65 more students for MHS when they reach the high school.

In this example, MHS can expect more students in the years to come.

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

