Why Do I Take Pictures?

I have been asked, “Why do you take pictures?”

The answer centers around a 2,000 year old philosophy (Acts 20:35), “It is better to give than receive.”

I love being at as many MISD events as I can be, and instead of just watching these events, I take pictures. These pictures are posted on a website (http://midmoments.smugmug.com), and they are intended as gifts for all to see and enjoy. And my hope is just that: that you’ve enjoyed, do enjoy, and will enjoy, the pictures … the gifts.

[Note: Some people have asked if I would take pictures of more than just sporting events. Most of my pictures are of sporting events for two reasons. First, equipment. The photography equipment that I have is well suited for sporting events. Second, FERPA – The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. This federal legislation gives guidance to educators on what photographic images can and cannot be published. There are fewer legal concerns when it comes to taking and publishing pictures at sporting events.]

[Note 2: He was safe at home].

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

