Money Doesn’t Matter

There are politicians who believe that money doesn’t matter when it comes to K-12 public education. Evidently, less money can buy more for Texas kids.

I took that idea … money doesn’t matter, less money can buy more … and tried it out in the real world.

First, I went to my local car dealership. I sat across the desk from the salesperson and told him that I would like to buy a small, economy car. He said fine, wrote the cost down on a piece of paper and slid it my way. The price was $10,000.

“Great,” I said. “Now I want your top-of-the-line, fully loaded SUV … for the same price.”

He looked at me as if I was joking. Eventually his expression turned more serious when I didn’t change mine. He finally broke the silence and said, “You’re crazy, man.”

My response was instructive, “I don’t think you understand. You see money doesn’t matter. In education, I’ve been told by politicians that I can get a fully loaded SUV for a economy car price, and that’s what I want from you: your top-of-the-line, fully loaded SUV for an economy car price.”

The salesperson’s final reply shut the door to additional instruction: “Dude, you’re cray! Nobody thinks like that!”

OK, that didn’t turn out as expected, so I went to my local realtor.

“I’d like to buy a double-wide on a small lot,” I stated.

“Fine. That’ll be about $75,000,” was her best, first estimate.

Once again I applied a dose of a politician’s economics to this situation and said, “With that same $60,000, I’d like a palatial, 10,000 square foot home on a South Padre beachfront.”

Needless to say and useless to document that conversation didn’t end well, either.

As incredulous as it sounds, all my experiences that day ended in eerily similar ways.

It seems that politicians have discovered the only place in the world where money does not matter: K-12 public education.

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

