The Parking Space and The Bookstore

Today, I went to a local bookstore located in a popular outdoor mall.

The parking lot was crowded. As far as I could see, there were no parking spots along the route I was on. That all changed when a car backed out in front of me.  The spot was close to the bookstore. I slid my truck into that lone, open parking space and in less than forty-five seconds I was among the book racks lost in a search for some good reads.

However, once in the store I noticed that the parking places of the patrons made no visible difference in the person. Some, no doubt, had parked closer than I, and some, had parked farther away.

When I looked, no other person was reaching for the books in which I was interested. That didn’t make the others in the store of more or less value, it meant that their stories were not my stories.

I am not a theologian nor a politician, but when I read in our Declaration of Independence these words, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights …”, I think of the parking space and the bookstore.

“All men are created equal” does not mean that all men and women are born with identical parking spaces, but, as Citizens of The United States of America, they have access to the stories of their choice.

What a great nation in which we live.

With freedom and responsibility, choose, write and live your story!

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

