The Cups

IMG_6710My wife, Raquel, and I have four grown children ages 27, 25, 23 and 21. And in our our cupboards are cups from when our children were toddlers.

My parents kept cups from my youth, too, and for the longest time, I did not understand why they didn’t replace them.

I think I understand now.

Today, when I go to the cupboard, I see our old cups and I am swept away to a moment in time when, as a young father, I reached for one of them, grabbed it, filled it with the appropriate drink, and handed it to one of our children.

It’s funny, I have no doubt that if those cups were placed in a garage sale next week, no one would see any value in them, no one would buy them. That’s OK. I get it.

But to me, they are priceless.

It took awhile, but I understand why my parents never got rid of their old cups and why our childrens’ cups will always have a place in our home.

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

