Cartoons and miracles

I was born and raised in Iowa. I came to Texas almost 30 years ago when the Amarillo Globe-News offered to me the job of its one and only editorial artist (and I could draw editorial cartoons on the side if I wanted … and I wanted).

Recently, I was reminded of an editorial cartoon I drew (1985) that, with today’s falling oil prices, is relevant today.

0O5A1121

More important than the cartoon’s relevancy are miracles that it brings to mind:

A job (editorial artist) at the Globe-News when I had no formal training as an artist;
Meeting my wife-to-be, a Globe-News employee;
Great memories of colleagues and friends at the newspaper; and
The start of a career in K-12 Public Education as a teacher/coach
at Caprock HS (Amarillo ISD, TX)).

The stories behind the listed miracles run deep and wide … and there are more miracles.

As I look back, I see in many of my life moments (both in the joys and heartaches) miracles that, at the time, were, to some degree, hidden.

Often, miracles need time to become visible to our understanding and to reveal their meanings in our lives – like the desire of a young man with no formal art background to make a living drawing editorial cartoons.

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

