So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: That’s Blessed? (Matthew 5:11) (II)

This is the second in a series of brief blogs on the ease of reading the words of Jesus in the book of Matthew … and the difficulty of following them.

“Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely, for My sake,”
(Matthew 5:11).

For this writing, let’s skip over “revile” and “persecute.” I don’t need to go much further than “they … say all kinds of evil against you (falsely)” to make a point.

I would prefer that people say true and good things about me. That feels good.

But when people lie and say evil things about me just because I place my faith in Jesus, that hurts. I don’t feel blessed.

But Jesus says that when evil does what evil naturally does I am blessed. In The Message, it points out in the next verse (Matthew 5: 12), that what flows from my faith in those moments is the applause of heaven.

You see, I tend to equate “blessed” with the creature comforts of this world, like a week-long vacation on the beach. That feels good.

But Jesus wants me to know the although a week-long vacation on the beach may be nice, He has a richer focus for me: heaven.

Ultimately (that’s “heaven” in v 12), evil vanishes from my life and it will be forever replaced with greater stuff.

Don’t listen to evil! Evil is evil, and evil hurts. The more you give your ear to it the more hurt that floods your life.

Listen to the applause of heaven. That’s blessed!
_______________________
#1 So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: Do Not Worry (Matthew 6:25)

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Oher. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

