So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: I Am The Light Of The World? (Matthew 5:14) (III)

This is the third in a series of brief blogs on the ease of reading the words of Jesus in the book of Matthew … and the difficulty of following them.

You are the light of the world.
(Matthew 5:14)

I’m the light of the world? Me?  Really?

I have several flashlights in my home. They were purchased to shine brightly for when the electricity fails at night – when there’s nothing but dark.

So, what is it about flashlights that they always – and I do mean always – fail when they are needed the most?

The electricity is out. It’s night. It’s dark. And if by some miracle I find one of the hundreds (OK, that’s hyperbole), it doesn’t work.

And that brings us to the light of the world of which Jesus spoke in Matthew 5:14.

I’m confident that Jesus, when He referred to you and me as lights of the world, didn’t mean that we were to be flashlight Christians – hard to find and low on batteries.

_______________________
#1 So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: Do Not Worry (Matthew 6:25) (I)
#2 So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: That’s Blessed? (Matthew 5:11) (II)

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Oher. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

