So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: No Need to Pet A Skunk (Matthew 6:22) (XV)

This is the fifteenth in a series of blogs on the ease of reading the words of Jesus in the book of Matthew … and the difficulty of following them.

The lamp of the body is the eye. If therefore your eye is good,
your whole body will be full of light.
(Matthew 6:22)

Your eyes – your spiritual eyes – allow either light or dark into your soul.

An example may help.

The spiritual eye is like another sense: tactile. If I touch something, I can expect some of it to rub off on me. So, if I  pet a skunk in the wild, I can expect, to my detriment, to share its odor.

Likewise, what the spiritual eye comes in contact with is what enters the soul. That does not mean that I cannot look at the dark things of the world, that’s impossible – there’s darkness everywhere. It means that I don’t invite the darkness into my life.

I can look at a skunk. I don’t need to pet it.

_______________________

Links to the previous blogs in this series can be found at Links to So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do.

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in Oher and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

