So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: Ask And It Will Be Given To You (Matthew 7:7-11) (XIX)

This is the nineteenth in a series of blogs on the ease of reading the words of Jesus in the book of Matthew … and the difficulty of following them.

Ask and it will be given you.
(Matthew 7:7-11)

OK, here goes, “I ask for $100 million!”

Bad news. I just got off the phone with my bank and there is not a $100 million credit posted to my account.

I asked and I didn’t get. Something went wrong. Either God’s got it wrong or I have it wrong. I’d put money on the latter.

Sometimes is takes another verse to understand a verse. John 14:14 can help us. It reads, “If you ask anything in My name I will do it.”

“In the name of Jesus” means that Jesus and I are on the same page: His page, not mine.

When I ask for anything in the name of Jesus – that is, His will be done in my life – I can be assured that it will be given to me.

_______________________

Links to the previous blogs in this series can be found at Links to So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do.

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in Oher and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

