So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do: God, Are You Not Willing To Answer My Prayers? Part II (Matthew 8:1,2) (XXVIII)

This is the twenty-eighth in a series of blogs on the ease of reading the words of Jesus in the book of Matthew … and the difficulty of following them.

When He had come down from the mountain, great multitudes followed Him. And behold a leper came and worshipped Him, saying, “Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.” The Jesus put out His and touched him, saying, “I am willing; be cleansed.” Immediately the leprosy was cleansed.
(Matthew 8:1,2)

The leper’s plea (Matthew 8:1,2) was immediately and miraculously answered and for that I celebrate the healing and I praise God for it.

But what about my prayers?

There have been times when my prayers have gone unanswered. And with those unanswered prayers comes a first question: Is God not willing to answer my prayers?

But a whole lot of theology (i.e., the study of God) comes with that question.

It’s important to know God is always willing and able to do that which is best – His best. However, sometimes His best and my best are not the same. So, what happens when His best and my best are at odds?

Can my prayers force God to do that which is not His best? No! Should God choose to do that which is not His best? Again, No!

If God can’t be forced to do less than His best, and if God won’t choose to do less than His best, then something else is at work in God’s relationship to me and my relationship to Him. That “something else” is, He is sovereign.

Sovereign means that His will trumps my will. And that’s good because He is perfect and I am far from perfect.

I can easily say that I am glad that the perfect will of God trumps my imperfect will. However, in my day-to-day life it hurts when my prayers, prayers that spring forth from the deepest and most sincere part of my heart, are not answered as I would want them answered.

So, my second question is, Is there something wrong with me?

Let’s look at that question and its answers in the next writing.

_______________________

Links to the previous blogs in this series can be found at Links to So Easy To Read, So Hard To Do.

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in Oher and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

