The First and Last on Christian Friends

A few days ago, I posted the following picture as the body of a blog titled, the high calling of friendship.

high calling of friendship

An acquaintance read it, called, agreed to this writing, but wanted to remain anonymous.

I hurt more than I’ve ever hurt in my life, and my Christian friends are:

the first to condemn, the last to forgive;
the first to gossip, the last to seek and speak the truth;
the first to church on Sunday, the last to visit me on any day;
the first to grab a stone to throw, the last to put it down;
the first to disappear ….

It was a brief call that ended with, “I understand Gandhi when he said, ‘I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike Christ.'”

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

