Hopelessly Stuck Without God

Something happened to me the other day that was both not-so-good and good.

The Not-So-Good

After a heavy rain, I was driving home in my light pickup on an entrance ramp to a state highway and the back end of my truck began to swerve.

The swerving did not end until the truck did a 180 degree turn sliding into a muddy, grassy area between the highway and an access road.

I tried to get out, but the back tires spun hopelessly in the ditch.

The Good

When it all happened, there was no other vehicle in sight. I wasn’t injured, the truck was not damaged, but I was stuck facing the opposite way.

A towing company was called. The tow truck came an hour-and-a-half later, and shortly thereafter my truck was safely out of its predicament and I was on my way home.

Hopelessly Stuck Without God

As I reflected on the incident, it reminded me of my how my relationship with God began.

Many years ago, I was in a ditch, facing the opposite way, hopelessly stuck, when God pulled me out and put me on the right path.

I really don’t like the ditches of life, but since my relationship with God began I do wind up there from time to time. The good news is that each time I find myself in that predicament He pulls me out.

The lesson has been learned: I get hopelessly stuck without God.

 

 

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

