The Truth Shall Make You Free. Really?

Dove.jpgThe truth shall make you free. Really?

I desire to be free … absolutely free … free without any boundaries whatsoever.

But the Bible says that is not freedom. Freedom has a foundation: truth.

“The truth shall make you free,” (John 8:32, NKJV).

Freedom and truth are interrelated and inseparable.

For example, if I’m free without boundaries, I can believe anything I want to believe. I can even knowingly choose to believe that which is false. That definition of freedom gives me permission to live in a world that does not fit reality. I can believe that the door to the building I want to enter is open, even if it is closed. However, when I attempt to enter I bump into the door … and reality.

I was wrong! But where does “wrong” fit in a world where I and freedom are one? It doesn’t fit.

Freedom and truth are related.

A fair next question is, “What is truth?” The Bible proposes an answer: Jesus.

“I am the way, the truth and the life,” (John 14:6, NKJV).

There are two reasons why this passage makes sense.

First, it puts truth on a higher plane with God.* Ultimately, it disallows the troubled logic of relativisim: there are no absolutes in the world.

Second, because truth rests in a spiritual/personal form, I can find truth not only in the created, material world, but also in the immaterial – for example, love.

The statement is: “The truth shall make you free,” (John 8:32, NKJV)

The question is: Really?

The answer is: Yes.

_________________________________
*This article assumes the truth of the triune nature of God – God, one God, manifested eternally and simultaneously in three distinct persons: God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

 

 

 

 

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

