My Problem With God

God and Man.jpg

My problem with God is summed up in one word: sovereignty.

Sovereignty has to do with God’s right to be in control. He has the authority to guide my life because God is all-powerful, all-good, all-knowing, and all-wise.

How do you argue with a resume like that? I don’t know, but I do.

And that’s the rub. I do resist His sovereignty.

Unfortunately, without God’s all-this’s and all-that’s at my disposal, my choices and judgements are hindered by a lack of knowledge, understanding and, even more troubling, a large dose of arrogance.

The history of people who supplant their wills for God’s stretches back all the way to the story of Adam and Eve. Remember how that turned out?

So, maybe my problem with God isn’t a problem with Him, it’s a problem with and in me.

C.S. Lewis would agree with latter. He noted, “There are only two kinds of people in the end: those who say to God, ‘Thy will be done,’ and those to whom God says, in the end, ‘Thy will be done.'”

 

 

 

 

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

