God and Me Last Sunday

In a church seat prior to the beginning of the service last Sunday, I felt so far from God … so out of touch. I prayed that God would speak to me. I prayed a few words of  Jeremiah 33:3:

Call to me, and I will answer you

A few minutes later, a 30ish-year-old man with two women of the same age sat down two rows in front of me. His actions and speech showed signs of an intellectual disability.

The music minister started the service. He asked that we all stand as the upbeat, contemporary music began.

And the man who was now standing two rows in front of me jumped to his feet. He hugged the woman next to him, raised his hands, swayed his body, and seemed so caught up in the experience … so happy.

And then God spoke to me, “Look who’s joyful, and who’s not. Answer me this, ‘Who’s more challenged?'”

The pastor delivered a good message, but the greater message was spoken through the life of the man two rows in front of me.

I called and You answered.

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

