I’m OK With 2 Of The 3 Questions Bob Beaudine Presents In “2 Chairs: The Secret The Changes Everything.”

Bob Beaudine presents his readers three questions – questions which his mother introduced to him – in his book 2 Chairs:

(1) Does God know your situation?
(2) Is it too hard for Him to handle?
(3) Does He have a good plan for you?

The first two are no brainers. The third …

Does God know your situation? The answer in the book is “yes” and I have no problem with an affirmative answer, too. If God is God – and He is – then knowing my situation is easy for Him, after all He is all knowing.

Is it too hard for Him to handle? “No” is the answer Bob wrote. Again, no problem: I agree. God is all powerful, so Him handling my problem(s) cannot be too hard.

Does He have a good plan for you? Bob writes, “Yes,” and I agree – but there are times it just doesn’t feel that way- and that’s a problem.

So, let me set up two chairs, but this time it’s one for me and the second for me.

First question (first chair): Is the problem a problem with God or a problem with you?

Answer (second chair). Well, God is perfect and I’m not, so no doubt the problem rests with me. But my feelings!

First chair: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you …” (Jeremiah 29:11, NKJV).

Second chair: Hmm?

First chair: Do you remember in the New Testament when Jesus, asleep in a boat with his disciples, awoke and found the others afraid as they were besieged by a violent storm? “But He said to them, ‘Why are you fearful, O you of little faith?’ Then He arose and rebuked the winds and the sea and there was a great calm,” (Matthew 8:26, NKJV).

Second chair: Ouch! I don’t want Jesus to know me as “O you of little faith.” I think I’ve got it. Faith is bigger than feelings. My feelings should not define my faith.

Bob, you’re right. Does God have a good plan for me? Yes!

                                                                    __________

God has a good plan for you. In John 9:3, Jesus tells His disciples that a man born blind is not unlike you and me in this one sense, “[This man was born] that the works of God should be revealed in him.” God wants to shine through you and me, and that is a pretty good plan.

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

