Suffering, Pain, and God (Part V): I Can Get It Wrong

Grief (II) copy.jpg

God is God and I’m not. He alone has a perfect understanding of this world and one of its realities: suffering and pain.

I need to be aware that there is the real possibility that if I assign meaning to my suffering and pain that I can get it wrong.

Look at Job. He didn’t understand his fall from prosperity to misfortune. In his suffering and pain, his wife and friends tried to help but they got it wrong.

Finally, God stepped in and spoke to Job asking, “Who is this who darkens counsel by words without knowledge? (Job 38:2).  And in a memorable manner, God leads Job to the point that Job admits, “You asked, ‘ Who is this who hides counsel without knowledge?’ Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know,” (Job 42:3).

God can’t, but I can get it wrong.

The point is not to stop trying to understand suffering and pain. The point is be careful.

Pray. Listen. Persevere and keep the faith.

 

About drjstewart

Educator, writer, and photographer
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

