Thank You From A Veteran

Screen Shot 2013-11-10 at 7.08.29 AMToday (Nov 11, 2013), Frank Seale Middle School (FSMS) and Walnut Grove Middle School (WGMS) honored hundreds of veterans during their respective Veterans Day ceremonies.

Their programs are spectacular, patriotic … and emotional.

After one of the ceremonies,* a veteran who was leaving the parking lot in his car, stopped, lowered the driver’s side window, and signaled me to come over.

I did.

With misty eyes he said, “There are times that I have wondered why I served. But today I was reminded that there are people who appreciate what I did. Thank you.”

And with that he drove away.

To the staff and students at FSMS and WGMS: Thank you!

And thank you veterans for your service!

________________________
* I’d like to alter the details just enough to not reveal the veteran who addressed me.

About drjstewart

Christian, husband, father, educator, writer, and photographer.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment